Here There and Everywhere: Anticipating the Art for the Future
Place: Part IV   Spiritual

Prayer Flags around the World
Thomas Matsuda • USA    www.tmatsuda.com
Silvia Poloto • Brazil/USA    www.poloto.com
Mohammad Abou El Naga Egypt    www.abuelnaga.com
Linda Gordon • England    www.lindagordon.org.uk
Caroline Jourdan • France
Aram Chaled Res • France/Syria    www.aramchaledres.livepepper.com/
Laurette Wittner • France    laurettewittner.livepepper.com
Dorothea Fleiss Germany/Romania    www.dorothea-fleiss.com
Elisabeth Ochsenfeld Germany    www.elisart.de Sylvia Reiser • Germany    www.sylviareiser.de
Fatyol Zoltan • Hungary    www.fatyolzoltan.uw.hu
Tomomi Shimizu • Japan    www.wooloo.org/tomo
Takata Yoshiki • Japan    jp.cyworld.com/tokiotakataka
Hakim Ghazali • Morocco/France    www.minculture.gov.ma/fr/hakimghazali.htm
Stéphanie Devico • Morocco/France    www.histoiredunevie.com/feder_s_devico
Krijnie Beyen • Netherlands    www.krijniebeyen.nl
Krzysztof Bojarczuk • Poland    www.artmajeur.com/?go=user_pages/display_all&login=boyar
Vasile Tolan • Romania    tolan.autoportret.ro
Bibi Stroia • Romania    www.stroiaart.rd
Padungsak Kochsomrong • Thailand
Dang Anh Tuan • South Vietnam
Thaier Helal • United Arab Emirates/Syria    www.thh.8m.com
Padungsak Kochsomrong • Thailand
Lyudmila Dakhova • Ukraine    dakhova.org.ua
Talal Moualla • United Arab Emirates
Andra Samelson • USA    www.andrasamelson.com/projects.html
prayerflags.livepepper.com/

This project was inspired by a ceremony Matsuda initiated on Hiroshima Day 2006, while attending the D. Fleiss Residency/ Symposia in Romania. One of the artists at the symposia Talal Moualla—who received daily phone calls from Syria and the United Arab Emirates about the Lebanon War—lent two paintings for the ceremony as a remembrance of the victims of war and a prayer for peace. In attendance were artists from Syria, Egypt, Morocco, Japan, France, the United States, Hungary, the Ukraine, Romania, Germany, Brazil, Italy, Spain, Thailand, the United Arab Emirates, Poland and others. This project is a continuation of that experience. Along with artists from the D. Fleiss Symposia/Residency, artists from around the world have made artworks out of cloth to hang together like Tibetan prayer flags. The pieces will first be hung at the Grafton Peace Pagoda for the annual Hiroshima Memorial Prayer Ceremony. Then the pieces will travel to the participating artists’ countries for ceremonies and exhibitions as a symbol of peace around the world.


Exhibition Venues:
Hampden Studio Gallery, University of Massachusetts •
Amherst, Massachusetts, USA www.umass.edu/fac/hampden/
April 2—25, 2009
Located on the University of Massachusetts’ Amherst campus, Hampden and Central Galleries’ mission is to facilitate cultural understanding through exhibitions and in-depth adjunct programming. The main focus is on new work by emerging artists in the fields of painting, sculpture, printmaking, mixed media, video and new media.

Grafton Peace Pagoda • Grafton, New York, USA
Hiroshima Anniversary Ceremony, August 1, 2008
www.dharmawalk.org/grafton06/grafton06.htm
Leverett Peace Pagoda, Anniversary Ceremony and Celebration •
Leverett, Masssachusetts, USA
shishido.web.infoseek.co.jp/Nipponzan%20Myohoji/Frame/Temple_1.htm
Date: TBA

The Grafton Peace Pagoda was completed in 1993—the result of eight years of voluntary labor and donations from people from all faiths and from many corners of the world. The Grafton and Leverett Peace Pagodas are the site of numerous interfaith celebrations throughout the year and are the jumping off point for a variety of “Prayer Walks,” which successfully combine spiritual practice and political activism. The Leverett Peace Pagoda is situated next to a Buddhist Temple that is still being built, and includes a beautiful Japanese Garden complete with a reflecting pool, pavilion and rock garden.


FUTURE EXHIBITIONS/CEREMONIES (with more to come):
Mount Wachusett Community College. Gardner, MA, USA
March 9 - 31, 2009

Artists Over the Frontiers. Benedictine Monastery, Chauveroche. France
May 31, June 1

Museum of Art. Satu-Mare. Romania
August 14, 2009

Gallery Graf. Heidelberg, Germany
2010